Data retention
How long we retain your data and how you can access it.
- Official mailing sent to our subscribed customers on Thursday 17 May 2018
Dear customer,
As part of our GDPR readiness, we are implementing a data retention scheme at Smsbox.be. ‘Data’ means personal data collected and / or generated by Smsbox.be for the provision of communication services, including detail record data, etc. Our aim is to ensure that we only retain data long enough to give customers access to it in order to enable their business activities, but not for any longer period when it no longer serves any purpose.
Storing data and providing access to it for our customers serves a number of purposes:
- Diagnosing problems (for example the delivery of an SMS message)
- Viewing/downloading bulk communication records for statistics or reconciliation
- Simplifying the implementation of data retention for our customers
We are introducing a retention period of thirteen months for all communication files containing personal data.
Please note that while your data is retained on the Smsbox.be platform, you can access it in the following ways:
- The Smsbox.be customer dashboard: https://www.smsbox.be/cp
This takes effect on Monday 21 May 2018. All records older than thirteen months will be automatically deleted/anonymised from/on the Smsbox.be platform and the above methods can no longer be used to access the data.
If you believe that your records should be retained for a longer period, please contact us before 21 May 2018 for advice at support@smsbox.be
- Official mailing sent to our subscribed customers on Thursday 24 May 2018
Dear customer,
As of 25 May, we will only keep the “active” users in our database in order to comply with the new GDPR legislation.
What do we mean by active users?
By “active user” we mean an account that has used our services or made a purchase in the past 24 months on our websites www.jaan.be or www.smsbox.be
The concept of 'active user' applies to every type of account (whether normal accounts, super accounts) , reseller or sub-account).
When does an account become inactive and when is it deleted?
Accounts that have not purchased any service within 24 months after the last SMS credit or purchased subscription expires are considered inactive.
With regard to the sub-accounts and customers of resellers, the users are considered "inactive users" after 24 months from the last SMS or e-mail sent and / or the last activation of a service.
All accounts and sub-accounts that are considered inactive will be automatically deleted from the database.
What do you need to do?
It is important that super accounts or resellers immediately inform their sub-accounts or customers of the introduction of this legislation affecting their accounts.
In the event that one of your accounts or sub-accounts is deleted but you wish to keep it active, it is sufficient to simply continue using our services. If your account is inactive and you want it to be permanently deleted, you do not need to do anything.